top of page

Tajikistan

It is time for one of my major destinations, the Pamir highway! first had to cross the border with is located at 4280 meters above sea level. An hight the car Rusty doesn't. like. white smoke coming from the back, its unburnt diesel. next to the los of engine power the car still drives and I take it slowly to the top.

for the Pamir I have an hitchhiker, Kate from the USA. we set of to tho the town of Murghab where we buy more diesel out of plastic jerry can and 10 liter buckets. Also on a side trip from here had to turn around I my tire took a souvenir, and credit card size piece of metal. with the tire fixed and a fu tank of diesel we set of towards the Waghan Valley.

this valley is known for its scenery and small tajz villages. on the other side of the river (the panji river) is Afghanistan. and you can wave to the people there. the river is very rough in some parts and always grey of colour. and found another feeling station and filled the tank with the help of an bucket again.

After an rest day in Khorog, with an very nice Indian meal in restaurant there. we camped all the way here so being in an decent size town was very welcoming. the famous Bartang valley was next. on the way in we met people that were stuck there for 4 days due to a landslide. knowing the road was open now we went further and passed the landslide. not knowing that when we wanted to go back the next day it would be blocked again. That left me 4 nights extra inside the valley. after 2 days had to walk across to make it to the her flight from Dushambe.

after I was free from the valley set my wheel towards Dushambe. breaking a spring on the way. turns out they don't have them on stock in Dushambe. and had to be flown in from Russia. so again made myself comfortable as I was 'stuck' for 6 nights. good thing is I made 4 more holes in my belt. but finally left for Samarkand (Uzbekistan) with 2 new springs and new engine oil.

the pair

camp for the night

panorama of the wagan vallay

a lake nearby

the pamir highway. (M41) other side is Afghanistan

howe you fill up

spot the metal sticking out the tire

view from an campsite

hade to weld this back on

landslide, Bartang valley

still there, looking if nothings comes down.

approximate route


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page