top of page

An incident

yes, I hade contact with an truck while driving. luckily the there was only material damage. mostly to my rim. with is made of aluminium.

I was taking over an truck on a dirt track about 200 km north off Qzylorde. I think the the truck driver wasn't paying atentision as its a bit of an long stretch between cities without anything in between. mid way I was afraid I would run out of diesel. but he decided to move to the left, steering into my right back wheel. I felt the car move up and instantly new I had a problem. and we both stoped.

judging the the damage on my car looked good, until I looked down and found my rim broken an had a large crack of about 20 cm. the tire was ruined as well. I have to by new rims I thought. me and the truck driver spoke a bit. he said it was my own fault, like he would try that. he said I steered into him. I pointed out if thats was the case there would be cosmetic marks on my car. as his tire would have been inside his wheel casing. that wasn't the case so he was definitely steering when it happend, putting his wheel outside of the the casing.

off course no cell phone coverage to cal police.. but anyway had to start using my spare, to get to Qzylorde. as it was already at nightfall when we had changed my wheel, I send the night in the car 10 km further down the road. (the trucker helped changing my tire) I hade decided I will find police in Qzylorde. but on the way there I figured there is nothing the police will do.

I woke up early that day, anxious what the day will bring. and stated driving that 200 km early, arriving in town around 930. ahead of opening times. so first filled up, 67 liters of diesel for 27 euro.

1th garage, mmmm, no sorry but go there, maybe.

2th grage, "oh shit' will phone people, turned into maybe after 20 min

tax driver; F##### H###, seeing my rim

3th garage, mmmmmmmm, shaking head, after 20 min; wil cost 25000 (around 50 euro). 2 hours work.

6/7 hours later after hanging out I was told it was done. I Went to a 4th garage that actually did the work.

I had already bought an new cheap tire to put on the spare rim. and use BF Goodrich that was on that on the repaired rim. of to the tire shop for mounting tires

Around 1830 I left Qzylorde, happy and hopping the rim has the same strengt as it shown before this trip. I am very sure it would be considered trash in the Netherlands with this damage. I camped not far out of Qzylorde, the capitol of Kazachstan during soviet times. but now an not very intresting town.

lets don't this again! and note to self; learn how to weld.

right after

closer view

I made this to make sure I knew his plates

the weapon, and his 'Damage'

nice sunset that night. didn't enjoy it tho.

3th garage owner, wow. mmm

just picked this up, can sell it as new?

almost there

rolling again, like nothing happened

the owner of the 3th garage


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page